top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelissa Reyna

Make My Kitchen Accessible

Updated: Nov 4, 2022

Living with blindness can sometimes be frustrating if not difficult to adjust to if you weren't born blind or lived with blindness for most of your life. Even for those of us who have lived with a form of blindness for the better half of our lives still find that we need to make our home accessible to some extent. And, for lots of us, the kitchen is the one area in the home where functionality and accessibility is vital. Before I obtained a degree in Baking as a Pastry Chef, I loved going in my kitchen often to cook and bake for my family. However, tools and useful items for the kitchen were not as thought out as they are now in terms of design and functionality. Not to mention, accessible to the blind and vision impaired. Nowadays, kitchen tools, small appliances, and other items for the kitchen have gotten better and smarter in a lot of ways.


This post isn't going to be a long one because there is so much I could say and write about when it comes to making a kitchen accessible. But, the only issue with that is that I can only speak for myself and how much I am able to see or not see in comparison to what's accessible for me in the kitchen. It would be relatable to some, but not to others. I'd rather keep this post short and sweet so you can start going down the items and their links that I will be sharing below. I will say this, regardless of your degree of blindness, I know you will find at least one item on the list that will make your time in the kitchen easier and much more enjoyable.


Things to remember and keep in mind when making your kitchen accessible for you.

* Safety: Being safe while in the kitchen is at the top of the list of things that are important while working in the kitchen (for both the sighted and blind). There are several items you can find that make things like cutting or handling hot items safer fir someone who is blind or vision impaired.

* Lighting: For those of us who are vision impaired, lighting is important to have in a kitchen. Some rely on a lot more light than others. Depending on whether or not you are renting versus owning, you have several options of adding lighting to your kitchen. Just be sure to know specifics when you are looking for extra lighting.

* Functionality: How will these items make things flow better while you are in the kitchen. Having things neat and organized is helpful when trying to find what you need. Also, Storage and placement of items in the kitchen can really help save on time.

* Convenience: Making normal kitchen tasks easier and stress-free will make your time in the kitchen cooking and baking more pleasant and enjoyable. And, if you are blind or vision impaired, you know that kitchen tools that help us are usually the same things that others who can see find helpful to them as well. So, it's a win win.

Below is a list that I've compiled of items I have in my own kitchen. As well as items that may help others who have either less or more sight than I do.


If you have tools for the kitchen that you have found helpful, please feel free to share in the comments section of this post. I will be updating my list of linked items if suggested items are left.


Again, all linked items are things I have used at some point and found them to be helpful for me, Or, items I think would be useful and helpful to others with less or more sight than I have. Please use your own judgement when choosing to make a purchase of anything linked in my blog. So, without wasting any more time, below, you will find links to things I own or have used in either my own kitchen or in the kitchen at pastry school.


Side Note: I am very skilled in the kitchen due to my culinary background. However, I understand that not everyone is. I have taken the time to go through all sorts of items that I feel might help those who aren't confident in the kitchen. Also, this list might possibly be updated on occasion depending on any comments left below with suggested items I didn't list. Feel free to check this post often to see if items have been added.


Image shows Melissa in her pastry chef jacket and hat holding a piping bag.


Things that help when it gets hot in the kitchen:














Talking and audio kitchen tools that have been helpful for me:








Smart small appliances: for the kitchen that work with Alexa:










Lets get lit in the kitchen:







Tools that make your time in the kitchen cooking and baking easy (some items are just for convenience but still are useful):








I love you so much also cool














































Meal Prep made easy.





















145 views0 comments
bottom of page